And then there were 8

DSC04379The cosy little world that is Tangler has been shattered… we hired a marketing guy!

Tangler’s new Chief Marketing Guy is Mick Liubinskas (that’s him in the Santa suit). He joins us from previous gigs as the CMO of Sharman Networks (makers of Kazaa), helping kids in Africa and more recently, Zapr.

Mick and I have known each other for a while and I’ve always had respect for his ability to turn innovation into need. Most importantly: he gets 2.0. He gets community. He gets Tangler.

Over the years, I’ve think I’ve directly hired more than a hundred people. Most of the time I knew within the first 3 minutes if they were the right person for the job — after those 3 minutes I’m looking for reasons they’re not. I had that feeling about Mick and my impression has only improved as we’ve gotten to know each other better.

I’m really psyched Mick has decided to join us. He’s an experienced guy who could have had pretty much the pick of startups at the moment: including starting his own thing. His belief in Tangler and the team is great to see.

3 comments so far

  1. Tara 'Miss Rogue' Hunt on

    Yay! Mick! Welcome to Tangler!

    This rocks. Mick rocks. Tangler…rocks. ;)

  2. oliverw on

    Congrats to Marty for making such a good hire. Congrats to Mick for picking Tangler.
    Win – Win

  3. […] a quick (if somewhat belated) welcome to Peter van Rensburg, Tangler’s 9th employee. Peter is an enterprise java genius that I’ve known for years, and have been pestering to […]


Leave a Reply

