My New Notebook

macversuspc-1OK, I did it. I ordered my new notebook. Sounds like a simple decision right? Pick something nice, make sure it’s powerful and has the right mix of features versus size and weight, then order. Simple? I’ve done it 4-5 times before. Yeah, right. Not anymore. It’s a struggle nowadays. Why? Because the mac is well and truly back.

Hanging out in San Francisco recently (especially with people like Tara Hunt and Chris Messina) left me feeling distinctly ‘corporate’ when I whipped out my slate grey trusty HP. Ye gads! I was the “PC” guy from the mac ads.

I’m a technical guy and frankly the mac is looking pretty tasty. OSX really is an excellent OS. It may not have the same level of app support, but it’s more than passed the point where that’s an issue… and if it’s still an issue there’s always bootcamp. The mac hardware is core duo (although they’re taking their sweet time with a Core 2 Duo), and the machines look and feel great.

So what was a dedicated PC user (I think 20+ years now) to do? Embrace the new world and get a mac book; even with it’s oft-denied heat, noise, and crash issues? Should I go over to the dark side, and to hell with the consquences? It was a suprisingly tough decision, something long debated by a few of the Tangler guys.

But I had to do something, and ultimately I decided to… chicken out and go with a PC again. So why? Well it really just came down to timing. Right now I just can’t afford to upset probably the most important aspect of my everyday activity. I’m the CEO of a startup, one that is frantically snowballing its way towards launch. Doing a complete about face on my primary operating tool isn’t something I think I can afford to do, at least for now.

Soon… I’ll buy a mac book I can play around with on my own time. Until then… my shiny HP nc8430 beast is on its way.

7 comments so far

  1. Tara 'Miss Rogue' Hunt on

    LOL. Welcome back!

    Really, you won’t regret it. Now if we could only do something about that Rhandy guy. ;)

  2. Martin Wells on

    No wait… you read it wrong! I bought a PC! I totally wimped out. :)

  3. Tara 'Miss Rogue' Hunt on

    Sigh…you did wimp out. lol.

  4. Martin Wells on

    now look what you’ve done.. i’m all guilty and sad. :)

  5. Tara 'Miss Rogue' Hunt on

    Not guilty and sad enough to change that order…eh?

  6. Michael Air on

    Wimp indeed! I went the other way, ordered a new macbook pro last Friday.

    I’ve just found OSX to be a much nicer environment to work in and when I need Windows, I can just load up Parallels which runs XP in a virtual machine at a comparable speed to native.

  7. Chris Messina on

    Seriously — everything you need to make the transition is in place. Hell, we could make a switcher ad for you.

    Jacques says “I am ashamed!”


Leave a Reply

